WAXWING - Appetizer (New CD Remastered Reissue of 1988 Seattle Metal band EP)

WAXWING - Appetizer (New CD Remastered Reissue of 1988 Seattle Metal band EP)


Payment Methods

Visa Mastercard Amex Discover Jcb Diners Paypal


Brand new reissue of the 1988 cassette 4-song EP by Seattle/Florida metal band WAXWING - APPETIZER - from Heaven & Hell Records from 2024.

• First time officially on CD
• Fully remastered
• 6-panel foldout
• Complete lyrics
• Limited to 500 copies

BIO: WAXWING formed in 1982 in Miami, Florida, when guitarist Snyder formed a 3-piece band with local musicians, drummer Steve Twitchell and bassist John Giillow. In the coming year Gil “Thrill” Fernandez was added as the lead vocalist. The quartet would be dubbed WAXWING.

In 1984, a decision was made to move the bad from South Florida to Washington State. Fernandez and Synder made the journey northwest. Both Twitchell and Giillow would remain in Miami. Once in Tacoma, the pair recruited a new rhythm section by bringing on board bassist Matt Mustafa and drummer Joey Hammerschmith to finalize a new WAXWING lineup. It was clear there was potential for WAXWING in the Tacoma/Seattle area. However, Fernandez and Synder decided to return to Miami. This decision would put the band on pause.

In 1987, Fernandez and Synder recorded a 4-track demo using a drum machine and Synder playing bass. The two then decided to return to Tacoma in the next year. There they would regroup with Mustafa and drummer Hammerschmith to record the WAXWING ‘Appetizer” EP at Steve Lawson’s Studio in Seattle.

Snyder - guitars
Gil Thrill - vocals
Matt Mustafa - bass
Joey Hammerschmith - drums

CREDITS: Recorded, mixed and mastered in 1988. Produced by Snyder and Waxwing. Recorded at Steve Lawson Studio Seattle, WA. Engineered by Terry Date. Mixed at London Bridge Studio in Seattle, WA. by Rick "Runningboard", Snyder & Gil Thrill. Re-mastered by Snyder. Cover art by Matt Mustafa. Photography by Bill Pegram. Digital Rendering by: Jesse Thoreson. 2024 executive producers J. Golden & G. Shafer. Layout design by Vigo Vin Soom. All Rights Reserved © 2024.